Nicol - Brown Amateur Invitational

The 10th Nicol-Brown Amateur Invitational
Piping Competition

October 12-13, 1991
Troy Music Hall
Second and State Streets
Troy, New York

Judge: Colin MacLellan

View a pdf of the program.

Robert Nicol-Robert Brown Chalice for Piobaireachd

  1. Skip Cleavinger (“The Earl of Seaforth’s Salute”)
  2. P. Andrew L. Hayes
  3. Jenny Hazzard
  4. David Hicks
  5. Alan Bevan

William Ross Challenge Targe MSR Competition

  1. Alan Bevan (“John MacDonald of Glencoe,” “Cabar Feidh,” and “The Smith of Chilliechassie”)
  2. David Hicks
  3. Jenny Hazzard
  4. Jeremy Freeman
  5. Skip Cleavinger

Donald MacLeod Memorial 6/8 March Competition

  1. Alan Bevan
    (“MacLeod of Mull” and “P/M Donald MacLean of Lewis”)
  2. David Hicks
    (“Bruce Gandy’s Farewell to the Iron Horse” and “P/M Donald MacLean of Lewis”)
  3. P. Andrew L. Hayes
    (“Dr. Ross’s 50th Welcome to the Argyllshire Gathering” and “Ballochyle”)
  4. Gordon Peters
    (“Angus MacKinnon” and “Redford Cottage”)
  5. Skip Cleavinger
    (“Mrs. MacDougall” and “John Gordon of Drummuie”)

20th Century Piobaireachd Competition

  1. Alan Bevan
    “Lament for Angus MacPherson of Invershin” by P/M Donald MacLeod
  2. P. Andrew L. Hayes
  3. William Wiley


The four competitors for this event were: Alan Bevan, Andrew Hayes, Catriona Hill, and William Wiley.

Donald MacLeod Medley Competition

(A 5- to 7-minute medley of Donald MacLeod compositions)

  1. Alan Bevan
  2. P. Andrew L. Hayes
  3. David Hicks


The five competitors for this event were: Alan Bevan, Andrew Hayes, David Hicks, Catriona Hill, and Brian Yates.

Dress and Deportment

  1. Alan Bevan

1991 Competitors

  • Alan Bevan (British Columbia)
  • John Chalmers (Ossining, New York)
  • Skip Cleavinger (Bowling Green, Kentucky)
  • Maureen Connor (Middleville, New York)
  • Jeremy Freeman (Austin, Texas)
  • P. Andrew L. Hayes (Nepean, Ontario)
  • Jenny Hazzard (Woodbridge, Ontario)
  • David Hicks (Port Colborne, Ontario)
  • Catriona Hill (Belleville, New Jersey)
  • Gordon Peters (Albany, New York)
  • Peter Skae (Haverstraw, New York)
  • William Wiley (Johnsonville, New York)
  • Brian Yates (Massachusetts)

If you have more details about the 1991 contest, or info on any other year of the Nicol-Brown, please email to help us fill in the blanks.